Photo of Alberta Premier Rachel Notley


Rachel Notley
Alberta New Democratic Party
Majority Government elected May 5, 2015

Ministers Responsible for Public Transit

Brian Mason (Transportation and Infrastructure)
Deron Bilous (Municipal Affairs)

Political and Electoral News

New Government

A New Democratic government replaced the Progressive Conservatives following an election in May 2015.

Funding and Program Announcements

Budget 2015

On March 26, 2015 the former government tabled its proposed Budget 2015, which was not approved before the election. It included the following highlights for municipalities:

  • Municipal Sustainability Initiative (MSI). Since 2007, municipalities have been allocated almost $6.3 billion in MSI capital funding to meet the demands of growth, address local infrastructure needs, and enhance municipal sustainability. About 20% of MSI spending supports public transit. The MSI budget allocation for 2015-16 is $849.6 million including $352.5 million from the former Basic Municipal Transportation Grant program, in addition to the $398.9 million announced on March 6, 2015 to provide extra support under the 2014-15 budget. Over the next five years, MSI funding will total $5.6 billion, including $1.8 billion in Basic Municipal Transportation Grants. More Information on MSI
  • Green Transit Incentives Program (GreenTRIP). Over the next five years, $965 million has been earmarked for this program, which provides capital funds for local and regional transit projects. The province remains committed to providing $2 billion in GreenTRIP funding by 2019-20. More Information on GreenTRIP