Events & Training

Individual Leadership Awards 2017

Congratulations to our 2017 awards winners!

Every year, CUTA is proud to recognize the efforts and excellence of outstanding individuals by presenting leadership awards in the categories of Excellence, Distinguished Service, Heroism and W.G. Ross Lifetime Achievement.


Awarded to individuals who have performed a heroic act. The act must be one in which no full measure of responsibility exists between the individual and the endangered party and must go above and beyond the call of duty.

Dawn Sutton (left) and Katherine Watson (right)

Durham Region Transit


Awarded to recognize a single major contribution made by an individual which has resulted in the betterment of a public transit initiative on behalf of their organizations. This could be awarded to an employee of a CUTA member, a volunteer or a community advocate.

Benoît Robert



Distinguished Service

For recognition of superior and outstanding service over a period of 10 years or more as a public transit professional. Awarded to an employee of a CUTA member who has furthered the standing of the public transit profession in Canada through professional practice and/or personal relations.

Anita Wasiuta

BC Transit

Marvin Rotrand


Sharon Doyle

York Region Transit

Renée Lafrenière



For further details about the Individual Leadership Award Winners please click here

Awards Sponsors

Thank you to our 2017 awards sponsors, who make it possible for CUTA to recognize the outstanding contributions made to our community.







Archives: 2016 Award Winners