Executive committee & board of directors

The officers of the executive committee and the directors of the board are elected by the members of the association and are selected to ensure geographical representation. The executive committee consists of the officers of the association. Executive officers serve a term of one year.

The board of directors consists of up to 45 directors, including those directors serving on the executive committee. It comprises large and small public transit system members, specialized transit, national and regional committee chairs, business members, government agency members, affiliate members and foreign public transit system members. The directors of the board serve a term of two years.

    • Chair
      Alain Mercier, Réseau de transport de la Capitale
    • First Vice Chair James McDonald, Saskatoon Transit
    • Immediate Past Chair
      Doug Morgan, Calgary Transit
    • Vice Chair - Finance
      Pat Delmore, Transit Windsor
    • Vice Chair - Communications & Public Affairs
      Kevin Desmond, TransLink
    • Vice Chair - Technical Services
      Dave Reage, Halifax Transit 
    • Vice Chair - Workforce Development  Kelly Paleczny, London Transit Commission
    • Vice Chair - Business Members
      Jennifer McNeill, New Flyer Industries
    • Vice Chair - Business Members
      Bruce McCuaig, AECOM Canada Ltd.
    • Vice Chair - Municipal Councils
      Wes Brodhead, City of St. Albert 
    • Vice Chair – Small Systems 
      Wade Coombs
      – Strathcona County Transit
    • Honourary Counsel
      Brian Leck, Toronto Transit Commission
    • President & CEO
      Marco D'Angelo, CUTA
    In alphabetical order:
    • Daniel Bergeron
      Autorité régionale de transport metropolitain 
    • Richard Campbell, Canada Bikes
    • Ann-Marie Carroll
      York Region Transit
    • Josh Colle, EY
    • Sue Connor, Burlington Transit
    • Tony D'Alessandro
      Town of Milton 
    • Chantale Dugas
      Réseau de transport de la Capitale
    • Dennis Fletcher
      Steer Davies Gleave
    • Sarina Gersher 
      City of Saskatoon
    • Vance Harris DIALOG
    • Scott Haskill, TTC
    • Tony Houad - Transit Windsor
    • Dennis Kar, Dillon Consulting
    • Pamela Kraft, TTC
    • Tim Luey
      St. Catharines Transit
    • Carrie Hotton-MacDonald
      Edmonton Transit Service
    • Lorenzo Mele
      ACT Canada
    • Amy Miller
      Clever Devices
    • Alex Milojevic
      Brampton Transit
    • Scott Pass
      Passenger Contracted Transportation Services Ltd.​
    • Vincent Patterson
      Keolis GR Light Rail Transit
    • Guy Picard, Société de transport de Laval (STL)
    • Judy Powell
      St. John's Transportation Commission
    • Eddie Robar
      Edmonton Transit Service
    • Kevin Schubert
      BC Transit
    • Ryan Reichl
      Alberta Transportation
    • Christine Terin
      York Region Transit
    • Jean-Pierre Miroux, Thales Canada
    • Emmanuelle Toussaint
      Nova Bus
    • Dave Wardrop
      Winnipeg Transit
    • Sylvain Yelle, exo | Réseau de transport métropolitain (RTM)
    • Pierre Zivec, Transdev Canada Ltd.

    What CUTA Board Members do:

    The Board of Directors, composed of 45 members, is responsible for the approval of the strategic direction, budget and Association governance policies. In addition to its fiduciary duties, the Board focuses on key strategic topics that are impacting the Canadian transit and urban mobility sector to develop industry positions and/or mandate its standing committees to conduct additional research or initiatives on certain topics. The Board delegates operational management of the Association to its Executive Committee, composed of 14 members.

    Board of Directors Meetings:

    The Board meets in person twice per year, in the spring and in the fall, in conjunction with CUTA’s events.

    Responsibilities of Board Members:

    • attend and actively participate in all meetings
    • keep an open mind, be eager to learn, and show sensitivity, empathy and compassion
    • represent the members' views honestly and accurately
    • be committed to the Association’s mission and governing documents
    • place Association interests ahead of corporate or personal interests
    • be familiar with the Association’s structure, roles and responsibilities
    • review agendas and attachments completely, in advance of meetings, and be informed about the background of issues in order to be able to discuss them responsibly
    • when responsible for an agenda item, come fully prepared by consulting the available reports and staff members as required in advance
    • adhere to the agenda and do not introduce new items unless the chair opens the floor expressly for that purpose
    • be prepared to ask tough questions or to constructively disagree
    • be prepared to go beyond opposing or criticizing ideas, and instead work to create better alternatives
    • support Board solidarity by accepting the majority’s decision as a Board decision