New Brunswick



Blaine Higgs

Progressive Conservative Party of New Brunswick

Minority Government elected September 24, 2018


Minister Responsible for Public Transit

  • Bill Oliver (Transportation and Infrastructure)
  • Dorothy Shephard (Social Development)

Political and Electoral News

  • The September 2018 election resulted in a hung Parliament.

Funding and Program Announcements

  • New Brunswick usually does not provide operational or capital funding to support transit operations. That changed when the federal government allocated $8.74 million to the province under the Public Transit Infrastructure Fund (PTIF).
  • Starting in 2019, New Brunswick will receive more than $165 million over ten years in federal funding for public transit infrastructure.